CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY'S THE BEST OF THE BEST 2017 SELECTION

NSTA BEST STEM BOOKS 2018 SELECTIONS

NSTA OUTSTANDING SCIENCE TRADE BOOK 2018 SELECTION

DOLLY GRAY CHILDREN'S LITERATURE AWARD 2017 RECIPIENT

A MIGHTY GIRL BOOKS OF THE YEAR

MARYLAND'S BLACK-EYED SUSAN PICTURE BOOK AWARD NOMINEE 2018

USBBY OUTSTANDING BOOKS FOR YOUNG PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES SELECTION 2018

 

★ "... a great model for building awareness of racism and solid inspiration for achieving against the odds."

-- Kirkus, starred review

"Accompanied by expressive digitized illustrations, this rhyming picture-book biography describes the challenges and triumphs Montague met as an African American woman. . . Hidden Figures fans will applaud."

-- Booklis

"Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin's spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography....this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences."

--School Library Journal

"Fans of Andrea Beaty’s Rosie Revere, Engineer (2013), or anyone who has struggled over feeling different, will appreciate this approachable biography of a inspiring scientist."

-- Booklist

"The author speaks directly and inclusively...this is an effective, age-appropriate introduction to a remarkable person."

-- Kirkus Reviews

"I'm really digging this new picture book bio series, Amazing Scientists! Lower word count, rhyming text, and sweet illustrations make them accessible to even the youngest reader/listener. More importantly, they profile still living women scientists & doctors who persevered against the odds, pursued their passions, and became leaders in their fields."

-- Kathleen Carey, Bookseller at Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza

"Think of this as a real-life "Rosie Revere Engineer" or "Ada Twist Scientist!" Refreshing to see a kids' picture book biography about someone I hadn't known previously."

-- Tegan Tigani, Children's Book Seller at Queen Anne Bookstore